Young guy looking for a fragrance to help me seem more mature and masculine

joeshmoe

Sep 7, 2021
Hi everyone,

I'm a college student who just turned 20 last month. I'm often mistaken for a 17 year old because I have a very young face, fairly soft voice, am skinny, and have very little facial hair. I've been learning how to dress better and more maturely over the summer, and I've changed my wardrobe up a lot and gained some confidence. Now I am looking for a fragrance I can wear daily to class and possibly to job interviews that will help me seem older and more mature, as well as more masculine. I've done some research about fragrances, but to be honest I am basically noseblind. I've never noticed how people at work or school smell, and the only people who's smell I would be familiar with are my dad and previous girlfriend. I tried a sample of Terre d'Hermes that I got in the mail and really liked how it smelled, but I'd like some other suggestions as to which fragrances would help me seem older. I personally like the scent of Old Spice deodorant and associate it with masculinity and maturity because I always used to smell it on my dad when I was a kid, but I've heard some people think it goes beyond maturity and more into "old-man" territory. If I were to buy Terre d'Hermes, would it smell good if I wore it along with Old Spice deodorant?

cacio

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Nov 5, 2010
Welcome!

Why do people my age wish they had the body, appearance, and lack of fat of a 17 (or 20) year old? I digress...

Gym work would probably be the most useful strategy here-perfume is secondary. I would simply avoid things like Axe body sprays and sporty/aquatic perfumes (which tend to be associated with teenagers, at least here in the US). Terre d'Hermes is a great choice. I have not tried Old spice deodorants so I don't know how powerful they are-most deodorants are not that powerful so they do not clash with a perfume.