Aeolian

Aug 21, 2022
Hi all,

I’ve been happily lurking here for a while, and first of all want to thank everyone for helping create such a lovely, constructive, incredibly useful community. I’m an early beginner and have gained an huge amount from everything I’ve read here so far, so am really grateful!

I’m sorry if this has been asked here before, but I’m struggling to find information on this, and wondered whether anyone has any advice about materials (esp. aromachemicals) for a realistic yellow rose fragrance?

I’ve been experimenting and now have a very simple light pink petal accord that I like, made from PEA, Geraniol, Citronellol and Beta Damascone, but my dream is to try to make a rose that’s fuller and slightly deeper, with a fragrant yellow rose scent (like Arthur Bell roses, for example).

It would be incredible if anyone has any thoughts about what I should buy to experiment with for this. Other aromachemicals I currently have that may/may not be useful include:
Y-Methyl Decalactone
Methyl Ionone Gamma
Benzyl acetate
Benzyl acetone (free sample thanks to Pell Wall)
Heptyl acetate
Hedione
Timbersilk
Dartanol
Benzoin
(I also have Rose Givco but would prefer not to use a base ideally)

I’m thinking about getting some Rose Oxide, Guaiacwood, Phenoxanol, Ylang Ylang and maybe Nerol to play around with, but not sure what else to try for yellow roses. Does anyone have any ideas?

Alex F.

Basenotes Junkie
Nov 29, 2019
You could try adding a bit of palmarosa (contains mostly geraniol, some geranyl acetate and farnesol) as a naturaliser and to give it more depth. It's made from a Cymbopogon, C. martinii, related to lemongrass and citronella and similarly cheap. I like and use it a lot. Would go well with some guaiac wood (which is/was used in tea rose recreations).