What difference in scent does spraying on you clothes instead of your skin make?

Crema

Mar 20, 2021
Im a total cologne noob I dont know anything. What I've always done is if I want a cologne to last a long time I spray it on my shirt instead of my skin. What does that do to the scent? I've read before you're not supposed to do that if you want it to smell properly.

cacio

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Nov 5, 2010
Heat makes a perfume evaporate faster. So sprayed on clothes, perfumes project much less but last longer. Depending on the perfume, it's possible that clothes will project fewer notes than skin, but overall, I'd say it's more a matter of preference (ie how strong/long lasting you want a perfume to be).

Also, you need to make sure that the perfume doesn't damage the clothes. Usually they don't, but a few perfumes can stain.

cacio

hednic

Basenotes Institution
Oct 25, 2007
Heat makes a perfume evaporate faster. So sprayed on clothes, perfumes project much less but last longer. Depending on the perfume, it's possible that clothes will project fewer notes than skin, but overall, I'd say it's more a matter of preference

cacio
This.

Kaern

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Apr 2, 2008
For me the fragrance becomes dead, i.e. it's not being allowed to interact with your skin and natural oils which makes it unique to you.

Jul 20, 2017
I usually spray overly synthetic fragrances on clothing (ie Carolina Herrera) and more natural ones go on skin but there are exceptions. After a while it just became instinctive.
Most citrus-centric fragrances I will usually spray on skin but try to get some on clothing to stretch the longevity a little. Most naturals getting skin time allows them to warm up and pop once they mingle with your own skins oils. Experiment and find what works best for you.

There is someone that comes to mind that would always smell great no matter what fragrance they would wear and it was ALWAYS on skin but they always exuded a lot of heat.