The Fougère Project, part 3

(Feb 13, 2014) Bryan Ross said:

Funny you mention Moustache, I was just reading a blog post about it from a blog I'd never heard of before:

tayandhergay.blogspot.com/2012/11/movember-discover-moustache-by-rochas.html

I hold a degree in graphic design, and I've been toying with the idea of creating my own genealogy chart for masculine fragrances. The only thing holding me back is the scope of my knowledge - a good chart would incorporate at least 150 - 200 fragrances, and I doubt I've smelled enough classic masculines to fully inform the grid. However, it is a pending project, something that might be made as a subjective "revision" to the Fragrance Wheel and the H&R chart.

I want to extend some thoughts to Christos as well. Christos, you say that you can see Cool Water and Jazz being classified as fougeres, but things like Mouchoir de Monsieur and Kouros don't seem to relate (I wager you're indirectly asking, how can they also be fougeres lumped in with the other two) - I have a few thoughts on that. My understanding of fougeres is that they inhabit two different worlds, and there are "bridges" between those worlds that historically connect them to each other. The first world is for the "traditional fougere, while the second is for the "aromatic fougere." Traditional fougeres make heavy use of lavender and other mints, coumarin, musk, and ambery wood notes. Aromatic Fougeres take the same structure but play around with countless variations of lavender "freshness," coumarin's "grassy warmth," and the "earthiness" of musk and wood notes. So you have things like Dunhill and Moustache and Arden Sandalwood in the traditional category, and Cool Water and Kouros in the aromatic category. Bridging them are things like Brut, Agua Brava, and Paco Rabanne - these "bridges" maintain more traditional components than their offspring, but also show evolutionary signs of breaking from tradition in their compositions.

(Feb 13, 2014) jtd said: