Nov 2, 2022
Hello everyone,

I am studying Schiff bases in consumer fragrance and their potential for coloration. I was wondering if there are any pH conditions required for the formation of Schiff bases (for example, hydroxycitronellal and methyl anthranilate to form aurantiol). Would this type of reaction only work under basic conditions or will it work in acidic conditions ? Would a Schiff's base reaction occur in a conditioner for example, where the pH is around 3.5-4.0?

Looking forward to your replies! Thank you! :)

pkiler

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Dec 5, 2007
Acid is often used as a catalyst for encouraging reluctant schiff base reactions to occur. Many schiff bases would still likely form in slightly basic blends.

Nov 2, 2022
Thank you for your response. So for the formation of aurantiol, which is quite readily formed when both hydroxycitronellal and methyl anthranilate are present in the mixture, it would be safe to say the reaction would occur faster than usual in an acidic medium

pkiler

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Dec 5, 2007
Ye
Thank you for your response. So for the formation of aurantiol, which is quite readily formed when both hydroxycitronellal and methyl anthranilate are present in the mixture, it would be safe to say the reaction would occur faster than usual in an acidic medium
Yes, Probably.

LaFou

Sep 18, 2022
And what will be the medium of scent release here? is it skin or moisture
just to try to follow wigh you guys

im not sure if if it was meant that the acid will be the release medium

pkiler

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Dec 5, 2007
And what will be the medium of scent release here? is it skin or moisture
just to try to follow wigh you guys

im not sure if if it was meant that the acid will be the release medium
When making only a schiff base, the acid catalyst is a very small amount, and just evaporates out when the water condenses after making the schiff base molecule.

LaFou

Sep 18, 2022