Perfumery course.

AlexMeno

Oct 12, 2020
Is Perfumersworld online professional course ($1190 without their kit as I already own about 300RM) worth taking? Has anyone ever done it? It has 10 units and they suggest spending about 1month per unit.
Thank you guys.

Bill Roberts

Mar 1, 2013
They will teach you a system no professional Perfumer uses and which you would need to abandon to advance. Therefore I would say absolutely not worth it.

AlexMeno

Oct 12, 2020
Do you have any other suggestion where I could study it more profoundly? I have been doing 3/4 hours a day of perfumery for 7 months and I feel like I stagnated. I am willing to pay so doesn't have to be free.

Bill Roberts

Mar 1, 2013
I am afraid not but perhaps others do. For most or nearly all here who have not enrolled in a school in France or served apprenticeships, it's a matter of finding what one can wherever one can and doing a lot of work.

4160Tuesdays

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Aug 30, 2009
Hi Alex, I run some classes. I've been making fragrances for 10 years and I like to share the way I do it. I have a self-study course at www.scenthusiasm.school which you might like to look at. You probably have loads of materials already so there's no need to buy anything from me to get started.

Bill Roberts

Mar 1, 2013
4160, just took a look at your site and while it's a quick look, I am quite impressed already.

It may seem stupid to anyone else for me to take this as a sign, and maybe some smart people would call it "confirmation bias," but while I have never said so on the forum actually I have never really liked anyone's list for "First 100 Aromamaterials" or what-have-you, including offered kits. They always had quite a lot of materials I strongly would not think great early choices for a beginner, and had sad lacks in my opinion. Looking at them, I'd almost cry if that's what I had to work with.