Incense as essential oils - Black Afgano

fjura

Aug 21, 2022
Hi all. I’m trying to create an essential oil blend as a fragrance for some friends who are opening a store. I’m brand new at being the “nose”. I’ve only sold fragrance. As reasearch, I’m going over several fragrances I feel have elements of what my friends’ concept is. I’m sure this is a huge rookie question but, when a note is listed as incense (this generalization drives me nuts, as “green notes” does as well), what oils do you think would be included in this? Frankincense, myrrh, etc? At the moment I’m specifically talking about Black Afgano. But it’s everywhere. I’d love some ideas/recommendations/input from the community. Thanks in advance.

hemmett

Nov 28, 2017
In my experience an incense note always involves frankincense, benzoin and/or labdanum. That would be incense in its most simplistic form. From there on you can build onwards and make your own unique composition.

It really depends on what you are trying to achieve. In the case of Black Afghano, it has a lot of woody and sandalwood materials next to which I’ve read on BN a crazy amount of ambrocenide. And what you can’t miss is Black Agar (Givco). IMO the latter materials are not necessary for an incense blend, but they make Black Afghano what it smells like.

Another interesting AC would be trace amounts of Aldehyde C12-MNA to enhance the frankincense note (in general).

ScentAle

Basenotes Junkie
Oct 26, 2021
Oh yes, and Black Afgano use also texas cedarwood, norlimbanol, kephalis. I feel strongly use of medicinal sweet notes and resins, and something toffee like, and maybe tonka abs that give that light syrupy smell with also a faint raspberry note, leafy tobacco, and vetiver, patchouli and labdanum.

parker25mv

Basenotes Dependent
Oct 12, 2016
It's difficult to describe. There are a whole bunch of notes that each smell very different but which are all reminiscent of an "incense" type of smell.