How do I work out how much of each substance to use in a formula?

Thioacetone

Sep 7, 2022
Hi

I am new to perfume making. I was wondering how do I go about determining what ratio of ingredients to use in my formula. I have bought a whole bunch of ingredients, some of which are solids that will need to be dissolved.
I suppose I make a highly concentrated ethanol solution of the soilds to begin with. Some substances eg indole are very potent so I will have to then dilute the concentrated solution to a usable concentration (I expect 1 mL of concentrated indole solution will be very strong, such that to get it in proper ratio with other ingredients I would have to add like 1 kg of the other ingredients, which is not feasible). And I doubt it is feasible to measure out microlitre quantities of solutions, either.

What is a good quantity of solution to be using for trials (e.g should I be aiming to make a volume of 10 mL for a trial)? I don't want to waste ingredients by doing endless trials. Would it be best to work with dilute (less concentrated) solutions in order to minimise waste?

If I add ingredients together in a stepwise fashion, then each new ingredient I add will dilute the existing ingredients, such that if 1 mL of 30 different ingredients is added in a stepwise fashion, the strength of the first added ingredient will be 1/30 the initial strength. And that's not even counting sampling of the solution (e.g. by spraying it) which will further decrease the concentration of the initially added ingredients. This makes me think that adding ingredients in a stepwise fashion is not feasible, because the relative concentration of the ingredients will keep changing.

So I guess I just have to come up with a recipe and mix them together. I guess I can get an idea of how potent each ingredient is both by looking up online, and sampling each ingredient individually, and taking that into account when mixing them.