Help Troubleshooting a Woody-Orris Formula

jfisch

Dec 31, 2022
Hello Basenotes friends, I'd love to get some advice on a formula I've been wrestling with -- I'm a beginner, so everything is a bit of a wrestle at this stage!

For this sketch, my brief to myself was to evoke a sunny Saturday visit to an antique store: I envisioned a warm, dusty woods-driven base to evoke old furniture, a heart of orris/violet, and an ozonic "fresh air" mid-top note. In attempting this formula, I ran into three fairly consistent problems even as I experimented with different ingredients:
  1. The heavier wood notes (I started with a cedarwood EO/cedryl acetate/norlimbanol accord, with a touch of pyralone and safraleine) overtook the orris heart and made it smell not-in-a-good-way dirty.
  2. The orris/violet heart accord was either too weak or too powdery when I pushed its volume (I'm primarily using Isoraldeine 95, Alpha Irone, and a bit of Ebanol).
  3. The formula smelled considerably different on the skin than on a scent strip, particularly with regard to the presentation of the heavier base materials.
Here's where I've landed as far as my current working formula (100 parts):

Base. I'm currently trying a softer woods approach with Kephalis and Amyris, plus a few slight dark accents. The Ebanol/Bacdanol is also meant to push woody dryness into the orris middle and harmonize with the ionones.
Iso E Super -- 10
Amyris Wood EO -- 7
Ethylene Brassylate -- 5
Helvetolide -- 5
Kephalis -- 5
Ebanol -- 5
Bacdanol -- 4
Coumarin -- 2
Juniper EO -- 1
Veramoss -- 1
Civette 10% -- 1
Amber Xtreme -- 1

Heart. I've tried Isoraldeine + Methyl Ionone Beta + Irone Alpha + Citronellol to get my orris/violet effect, with a few floral accents and a bit of hedione to tie it together.
Hedione -- 10
Isoraldeine 95 -- 10
Methyl Ionone Beta Coeur -- 10
Irone Alpha -- 3
Benzyl Salicylate -- 2
Citronellol -- 1
Neofolione 1% -- 1
Lilytol -- 1
Heliotropex -- 1