DPG vs Perfumer's Alcohol

Raddy14

Feb 20, 2016
Hello everyone!

Ok, so, this is my first post and I'm completely new to all this – i'm new to Basenotes too!

I have read previous entries related to my question but just can't seem to fully understand the difference.

I have two questions:

My first and main question is....
What is the difference between DPG and perfumer's alcohol. When, why and how would I use DPG?? Is it necessary? Is it used just as a dilutant – at what stage would i use it?
I've made some initial and super basic fragrance mixtures, using EO and synthetic's and the formula sheet i have says to mix it with DPG.......why?

Finally...
I've bought a bunch of ingredients – essential oils and synthetics. However, Vanillin and Tonalid have come as powders. How do I use them, do i dilute them in some sort of solvent??

Any help would be greatly appreciates....thank you in advance!!

Cheers
Raddy.

hamed.121.hamed

Dec 9, 2015
DPG is used as a solvent for oil based perfumes.
Perfumer alcohol is used as solvent for alcohol based perfume.
Depend on what kind of perfume you want to achieve, select either of them.
Stikies on the top of Basenote page might answer your questions.

HAMED

David Ruskin

May 28, 2009
Sorry hamed but you are wrong. DPG is used as a solvent for all water based/water soluble type end products. So, shower gel fragrances, soaps, alcoholic fine fragrances would all use DPG when making the fragrance concentrate. If you are making a fine fragrance that will use ethanol then use DPG to make solutions of Vanillin and Tonalid; or else add them as solids to your fragrance.

Ethanol is much more volatile than DPG, and is used most commonly as the end product medium with fine fragrances.

Should you wish to make a fragrance for an oil based end product ( such as massage oil, beard oil or oil based fine fragrance) then DEP or IPM would be the preferred solvents.

Last edited:

hamed.121.hamed

Dec 9, 2015