Can't smell musk

BonsoirB

Jun 20, 2014
As the thread title suggests, I can't smell musk.

I'm new to all this so after making a few colognes that have been a bit hit and miss I decided to go back to basics and smell my essential oils and synthetics, make notes and try to decide what I think will go with what.

I haven't got a huge selection but I have a couple of musks, Ethylene Brassylate and Galaxolide from Hermitage oils. I can't smell anything at all when I put them on smelling strips. I asked my girlfriend to blind smell them and straight away she identified the 2 musks.

Anyone else have this problem?
Should I just give up now if my nose doesn't work properly?
Can anyone suggest a stronger smelling musk?

pkiler

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Dec 5, 2007
Musk anosmia isn't actually too uncommon. There are say 100 musks, maybe more. you could just keep trying, you might be able to smell others.

I don;t actually worry about it too much, and use what seems likely appropriate, and use combinations of musks.

Ask what other people think, they might be able to help you sniff...
Have you see Jeroen's Musk base of several musks?
https://sites.google.com/site/perfumerecipes/perfume-accords/musk-mix

You could try to mix that up, and see if you can smell that...?

Giving up now, is certainly your choice, it IS a LONG path, expensive, etc. Maybe you are better as a fan than a maker...? don't feel bad, just know who you are, and what your strengths and weaknesses are... Weaknesses aren't bad, just not what you're good at.

PK

cacio

Basenotes Plus
Basenotes Plus
Nov 5, 2010
All of us have some problems smelling some musks, and at the same time can be hypersensitive to others. This is true of pretty much everybody, including perfumers. which particular musk one cannot smell varies across people. It just happens that you are anosmic to these patricular two. I cannot smell galaxolide either (I'm not a perfumer, and I've never smelled ethylene in isolation).