gido

May 31, 2008
hello.

i have made a rose like note with a few aroma chemicals and one natural. i haven't got some very important materials like nerol, beta damascenone, rose oxide, beta ionone, and even worse no natural rose (nor geranium) oil.

i have used some rose alcohols and ended up with a very sharp, almost harsh, way too fresh and thin note. not very good! then i tried again, this time changing the amounts and adding thing to make it softer, deeper an fuller. one ingredient that turned out useful here was labdanum. here's my current formula (in drops):

phenyl ethyl alcohol 25% 10
iso e super 20% 10
geraniol 10% 4
iso eugenol 5% 2
citronellal 20% 10
labdanum 3% 10
linalool 10% 3
cinnem. alc 12,5% 1
musk ketone 5% 4

it is not unsatisfying for a second experiment by an absolute beginner, it does have a smell related to rose.
however, i still want it to be more velvety rose petal soft, and it could be richer too. what are your suggestions?
i will receive some geranium oil soon, i guess the natural richness of this might help, though i suspect that the geranium is less soft/sweet/deep than a real rose.
at this point, i could use some suggestions/directions from more experienced people.

ps. i also will get some nerol real soon. plus, i am wondering what farnesol contributes to rose.

Last edited:

joxer96

Nov 8, 2007
Here are a couple rose base formulas:

Red rose base

Geraniol 250
alpha-iso-methyl ionone (iraldeine gamma) 150
Citronellol 150
Benzyl acetate 50
CYCLOSIA base (Firmenich) 50
Bulgarian rose oil 10% 50
Rose Crystals 50
Lilial 40
Phenylethyl pivalate (pivarose/centifolyl) 40
Phenylethyl alcohol 30
Exaltolide 30
Phenoxyethyl isobutyrate 30
Citronella oil of Java 10% 20
Geranium oil of Africa 20
Phenylacetic aldehyde 10% 10
beta Damascenone 10% 10

Total 980

Rose accord
soft petal-like

ALDEHYDE C11 UNDECYLENIC 10.0% 10
ALDEHYDE C12 LAURIC 10.0% 20
AMYL PHENYLACETATE 50
CITRONELLOL 480
EUGENOL 20
GERANIOL 50
LINALOL 120
NEROL 10