Basenotes Update 2021

grant

Basenotes Founder
Staff member
Sep 29, 2000
As some of you know I've been threatening getting these forums updated for many years. The aim was to do it last year, but then Covid happenend and I spent most of the year home schooling rather than home Basenoting.

Well, so far this year I've been making some good progress behind the scenes, and I am aiming to get this done before year end.

What I don't want to do is have a repeat of the Huddler debacle of 2013. I know it was eight years ago, but it still hurts and I'm not over it! There will be changes and everyone hates change, so I'm starting notification of this very very early, so things can go very smoothly.

Why Change?

• We've been using vBulletin as forum software since 2005. At the time vBulletin 3.8 was the most cutting edge and modern thing available. It was created before the iPhone and the rise of smart phones. Now 50%+ of internet traffic is carried out on a mobile device.
  • The version of vBulletin we are using (4.2) reached End-of-Life several years ago and no longer receives updates, which is not good for security issues.
  • As the software is so old, support for add-ons and modern features are no longer available.
  • Doing stuff that should be easy in the modern world, like uploading a picture to a thread, is stupidly clunky on here.
  • vB4 doesnt support recent versions of PHP, the language use to code the site.

What will change?

The main change will be that the forum software will be completely different. It is called XenForo and was created by ex-developers of vBulletin so, a lot of it is very similar to what you are used to. If you use other sites with forums, you may have already come across this forum - it's used on Badger&Blade, styleforum, makeuptalk.com, macrumours.com, IGN, purseblog and many more.

Notable differences from vBulletin to Xenforo