Wingie

Jardins de Bagatelle by Guerlain

Big, huge creamy white floral. Like, 1980’s big. It’s great if you’re into that kind of thing. The ultimate wedding scent. It’s available for a song at discounters too.

I just bought Champs Lunaires this past summer so probably don’t need this too, but two thumbs up nonetheless.
Nov 20, 2021


Teint de Neige by Lorenzo Villoresi

I didn’t think there was such a thing as a perfume that was too powdery for me. I was wrong - Teint de Neige assaulted me with an atom bomb’s worth of baby powder. I found it oppressive, sweet and headache-inducing, and eventually had to wash it off.
Oct 10, 2021


Futur by Robert Piguet

I have an unusual relationship with Futur - it’s one of the only fragrances I own that didn’t earn a place in my collection based on its own merit. I didn’t buy Futur because I loved it, but because I recently went through a ‘green’ phase and there just aren’t a lot of other options out there when it comes to ‘mean green’. I also wanted an alternative to Tom Ford Vert de Fleur, which I truly love, but as it’s discontinued I feel I need to ration my bottle.

I honestly don’t know if I like Futur, but something keeps drawing me back to it, so that in itself has justified my purchase, at least so far. I find the opening quite sharp and pungent, but after a few seconds it settles into a very green, very soapy perfume, with a dank, bitter vegetal accord anchoring it that I haven’t encountered in any other green floral. Maybe this is the leather others have mentioned, and Futur’s nod to Bandit. In any case there’’s nothing particularly pretty or feminine about Futur - so what’s the appeal? I’m still figuring that out, but I know it’s definitely not a perfume I’m likely to smell on many other women.

I sprung for the 100ml bottle as I wouldn’t be surprised if Futur were discontinued. I don’t think there’s a large market out there right now for scents like Futur, and it’s widely available at discounters for cheaper than any other Piguet, so that could be a sign it won’t be around much longer. In any case, I’m looking forward to seeing how my relationship with it evolves and if it ends up becoming a love.
Sep 4, 2021


Fleur de Peau by Diptyque

Smells like expensive soap. Similar in composition to Chanel No. 18 but slightly softer and more comforting.

I thought it was a light fragrance, but my husband smelled it as soon as he came downstairs, so this may be one of those fragrances that is deceiving when it comes to sillage.

I like it, but I don't think I would reach for it often so my 10ml travel spray is likely enough. I think full bottles are a bit overpriced anyway, if one's paying retail.
Aug 23, 2021


Iris Nobile by Acqua di Parma

Iris Nobile is not really an iris fragrance, but it’s beautiful. It is a gentle floral, delicately powdery, with a prominent star anise note that lends the fragrance an abstract sweetness, achieving the sweetness via a different method than most other fragrances. It has a comforting feel and I’m looking forward to wearing it in cooler weather.

I blind bought a bottle when I saw FragranceNet had a few bottles in stock, as I knew it had been discontinued, and had gotten a positive review in the 2008 guide. I’m happy with my bottle and glad I took the plunge.

This review is for the now discontinued EDP.
Aug 5, 2021


Bulgari pour Femme by Bulgari

A classic, and one of my favorite florals. I get mostly a violet-mimosa scent, with a good deal of powder. It's a very grown-up perfume, without at all being mature or dated. In fact, it's hard to believe this was released 27 years ago. Bulgari Pour Femme could easily be repackaged and sold today as a new scent and no one would be the wiser, though it is miles better than the majority of florals currently sold at brick and mortar stores like Sephora. As the saying goes, they don't make 'em like they used to.

Great lasting power too, and perfect sillage.

This review is for the now discontinued EDP.
Jul 28, 2021


Illusione for Her by Bottega Veneta

A fresh and uplifting fig scent with salty and woody facets, a touch of fruit, and a citrus opening. It absolutely channels the Mediterranean in the best way, and leans more feminine than other fig scents like Philosykos. Lovely for summer, and longevity is good given this is not a heavy scent.
Jul 8, 2021


Eau Parfumée au Thé Noir by Bulgari

I sought this one out because of the 5-star review it got in the 2018 guide. Breathtaking fragrance - a smoky tea/oud that is almost hauntingly beautiful, with an air of mystery. It leans too masculine for my tastes, so I gave my decant to my husband.

People have talked about how difficult it is to get a good oud fragrance without spending a ton of money, but this one has a lovely realistic oud note, and can currently be found at discounters for well under $100.
Jul 6, 2021


Séville à l'Aube by L'Artisan Parfumeur

A beautiful rich orange blossom, with a deep amber-y warmth. Orange blossom doesn’t get any better than this. This perfume is like drinking in a deep, fiery-orange sunset - ‘Seville at Dusk’ would have been a more appropriate name than ‘Seville at Dawn’.

One of l’Artisan’s best scents. A shame it’s no longer available.
Jul 4, 2021


Bel Respiro Eau de Parfum by Chanel

I agree with the previous reviewer that Bel Respiro is a laid-back scent. It's not the deepest or most complex green floral out there, but it has a valued place in my wardrobe as an easy-going fresh green floral and it's a favorite for the summer months.

I also think Bel Respiro is a great 'gateway' green fragrance for people who don't know how they feel about green florals or galbanum; though unfortunately it doesn't come with a 'gateway' price tag.
Jul 2, 2021


Vert de Fleur by Tom Ford

Tom Ford is not a house I've explored very much, particularly his private blends. I think they're a bit overpriced, and they tend to be more popular with the gents then with the ladies.

However, I wholeheartedly agree with all the positive reviews here on BN for Vert de Fleur, as well as Luca Turin's 4-star-review - these are what led me to seek out and try this fragrance. It's an absolute beauty, and a must-try for green floral lovers.

I don't get a lot of retro references in Vert de Fleur. It smells to me like a contemporary green floral, however it has much more depth, richness and complexity than other contemporary green florals like Bel Respiro or No. 19 Poudre, and is less mass appealing. I have nothing against these latter two fragrances - I own and love Bel Respiro as an easy-going fresh green floral, and it's a favorite of mine during the summer. But Vert de Fleur is on another level. If I had to deconstruct this fragrance, I would say it's a very rich, deep, green galbanum combined with a very smoothly blended floral accord. It's hard to pick out any florals individually, and it stays very green very deep into the drydown. It's not overly feminine though despite the florals - it's probably as unisex as No. 19 and other great vintage greens like Givenchy III.

A bottle of this will be mine before the end of summer - I think it's been discontinued but there are still some bottles around. Looks like I discovered this beauty in the nick of time.
Jun 10, 2021


Mon Précieux Nectar by Guerlain

I love both almond and orange blossom, but don’t think the combination quite works here. Something in this also smells synthetic and plasticky - it doesn’t smell nearly as natural as some other orange blossom fragrances.

Absolutely not worth the price.
Jun 7, 2021


Champs Lunaires by Rogue Perfumery

This may be my favorite current tuberose. It is a creamy and beautiful tuberose, but manages to be light and airy enough that it doesn't overwhelm and can be worn during the day. Lovely for summer nights as well. Two big thumbs up for this one.
May 31, 2021


Clair-Obscur / Jasmine by Keiko Mecheri

I found this jasmine fragrance quite sweet, and I normally have quite a bit of tolerance for sweet frags. To me this smells like jasmine with a big layer of caster sugar on top. It would have been lovely if the sweetness was toned down and the jasmine a bit fresher.
May 31, 2021


Coromandel Eau de Parfum by Chanel

Coromandel is one of the few Exclusifs I never tried in EDT formulation, and it's just as well - this one is not for me and I likely would have passed on the EDT too. I'm not big on patchouli. Very unisex though - I can see the right man pulling this off quite nicely.
Apr 26, 2021


1957 by Chanel

If you want to smell impeccably clean, fresh, and put together in a way only Chanel can achieve, 1957 is for you.

It smells glistening and multifaceted - like there are weightless layers of bright, bubbly, effervescent white musks dancing on your skin, champagne-like.

I see this actually wearing well in summer, in addition to spring. The aldehydes lend the musk a cool, refreshing aspect.

Beautiful and expensive-smelling, and an instant mood-lifter.

I never thought of myself as a lover of musk fragrances, but I suppose I am since I own quite a few of them. I don't seek them out - they seem to find me.
Apr 21, 2021


Hibiscus Palm by Aerin

Hibiscus Palm is a big, gorgeous, creamy, tropical floral. I don't get frangipani, but I do get ylang ylang and what smells like tuberose, and just a hint of coconut in the base. The coconut isn't enough to make this a suntan lotion-type scent, if you're worried about that.

It smells like a lightly whipped, creamier version of Guerlain Terracotta - as if Terracotta and Amouage Love Tuberose had a child. The Guerlain is a fraction of the price, so I would sample it if you've never tried it and are considering buying Hibiscus Palm.
Apr 13, 2021


Armani Privé Figuier Eden by Giorgio Armani

I get very little fig, and more of a dry, grassy, herbaceous fragrance that leans quite masculine. I gave my sample to my spouse it it smells great on him.
Apr 11, 2021


Parfum d'Été by Kenzo

Parfum d'Ete is a fresh, crisp, piercing lily of the valley, with lots of green. It's almost too piercing for me. As a white floral, LOTV is a note that if not done with a little bit of softness, like (vintage) Diorissimo, it can tend to smell high-pitched and screechy. Parfum d'Ete just skirts that line for me. I can wear and enjoy it a few times in the Spring when its bracing crispness is welcome, but if I wear it too much, or at the wrong time of year, it smells shrill.

I prefer my LOTV's a little softer and more floral, but I still think this deserves a thumbs up.
Mar 20, 2021


Lilac Path by Aerin

Ah, finally - a lilac perfume that doesn’t smell like air freshener!

This is an extremely pretty, high quality blended white floral, with lilac dominating in the notes. Even more impressive, the lilac note isn’t fleeting and lingers well into the drydown.

This is what Luca Turin would call a ‘bloodless’ white floral. It’s almost too angelic - when I wear it I can’t help but feel that I should be wearing a wedding veil. That might make it a pass for me - but a beautiful creation nonetheless.
Mar 17, 2021


L'Amandière by Heeley

l'Amandiere is a high quality blend of florals, greenery and a light almond note. The greenery is that of grass, not galbanum, and combined with the woodiness in the base it has a very fresh, slightly vegetal, almost mulchy smell, like forest crunching under your feet in early spring.

That's when this fragrance really shines, as it's quite tenacious, not delicate, and slightly angular. It truly sings when the snow is just melting and the crisp cool bite of winter is still lingering in the air.

I have tried both the extrait and the EDP. The extrait is a bit smoother but sits closer to the skin, as one might expect. Both versions have great longevity - several hours.
Mar 7, 2021


Baiser Volé by Cartier

A very fresh, pretty lily opening: quite green like a florist's shop, a little salty/hammy. However powder soon joins and the lily becomes much more subtle; for me it doesn't carry through enough. The drydown is a soft powdery floral that lacks interest and further on it smells more like laundry musk. Longevity is short - a couple hours at most (maybe it's been reformulated?). I like the opening, but that's it unfortunately.
Feb 22, 2021


parfums*PARFUMS Series 1 Leaves: Calamus by Comme des Garçons

Calamus is one of the more unconventional green scents. There’s no galbanum present - this is more of a damp leaves and grass, bamboo-type scent where the green is enveloped in a noticeably milky, slightly sappy accord that is quite unique. It stays relatively linear, and it’s a light fragrance but the composition is different and interesting enough that is doesn’t bore or disappoint. Easily unisex.

A green fragrance for people who don’t normally like green scents. It was composed by Bertrand Duchaufour, who has done a few quirky green scents but probably isn’t known for these as much as some of his other fragrances.
Feb 20, 2021


Florabotanica by Balenciaga

Easily one of the best bottle designs in recent history - why oh why couldn't the fragrance be a bit more interesting?

The opening is weird and off putting - a bitter green herbal accord, followed by a blend of rose and mint. Kind of feels like two different fragrances, and the rose isn't particularly rosy - it’s more synthetic, clean and washed-over. The florals sweeten up a bit, and later something slightly bitter or spicy lurks under them - maybe that's the carnation. I didn't enjoy smelling like this or wearing this - it just doesn't do anything for me. I also don't think I'm big fan of carnation. Such a shame - that bottle is fantastic.
Feb 15, 2021

Latest Threads

Top