Trauerkraut

Honour Man by Amouage

After long and intensive testing of the whole 'Man' (14 pieces) line from this brand Honour is the one that I prefer the most. Most of the offerings are from the dark incensy and woody kind...nothing groundbreaking, nothing new and certainly not worth the price. To me there are four that are different: Dia man, Ciel Man, Reflection Man and my final choice Honour Man, a perfect and unique smelling symbiosis (and surely not a copy) of the scents mentioned by Alfarom: Encre Noire, CDG2Man, Sel De Vetiver, Sycomore and especially Ormonde Man. To me Amouage Honour Man is what Ormonde Man should have been...that's the point!!

9/10
Jul 30, 2015


Gentlemen Only Intense by Givenchy

Extra strong mediocrity...how many can one get in a dozen...?
Jan 7, 2015


L'Orpheline by Serge Lutens

...very nice soft sweet woody and incensy opening...nothing sharp to my nose! After a couple of hours patchouli takes over smoothly and the dry down makes me think of Oud Immortel (without the limoncello)...!
Since I am a sucker for patchouli this one cannot go wrong for me...by far the nicest release of the last lustrum for this brand...!

Rating: 8/10
Nov 1, 2014


Lightscape by Ulrich Lang

Lightscape is a beautiful, classy and distinguished fragrance: light, airy, elegant and versatile, with decent sillage and longevity. Although differently composed the opening makes me think of 1725 Casanova by Histoires de Parfums. For now Lightscape is my favorite feelgood scent. Highly recommended!!
May 6, 2013


Mistral Patchouli by Atelier Cologne

...somewhere somebody writes in a review: 'I don’t think anybody would smell Mistral Patchouli and say', "ah, a patchouli fragrance, nice!"... well, that's exactly what did happen to me. The beautiful and hospitable lady at Skins Cosmetics (Laren - The Netherlands) is my witness. Although to me more a Föhn than a Mistral I bought it ... for now the 30ml version. Love it!

Apr 20, 2013


Verdon by L'Occitane

Nice minty aquatic like a soft, sweet fresh summer breeze: I like it...!
Apr 15, 2013


Costume National Homme Eau de Parfum by Costume National

Costume National Homme reminds me of one of my bad fragrance experiences: Apparition Homme Intense by Emanuel Ungaro. A bitter beast in which I cannot discover anything appealing: unfortunately this one hits the same spot...!
Nov 23, 2012


Baldessarini Strictly Private by Baldessarini

...Hugo Boss goes Fahrenheit 32...!
Nothing new or shocking, but very nice!
Sep 1, 2012


Solo Loewe by Loewe

Pfff...nr. 478 out of a dozen...! This one has really nothing original. One could smell this already in the seventies and probably the sixties. Why are boring fragrances like these invented over and over again?
May 12, 2012


Infusion d'Homme by Prada

Rubbery Iris and Bubble Gum...no thanks!
May 12, 2012


L'Eau Froide by Serge Lutens

Yesterday I received a sample L'Eau Froide...exciting!
Unfortunately I have to conclude that Mr. Lutens seems to have lost track: the Vitriol d'Oeulliet of last year was kind of adventurous but unwearable, and this Eau Froide is nothing more than a mainstream 13-in-a-dozen kind of Xeryus Rouge/Bleu de Chanel copy of a copy of a copy. It really is time for rigorous changes 'aux Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido'! Time for the return of the daring and unique experiments with which the brand became known. It is too long ago that Serge presented his last masterpiece!
Mar 7, 2012


Iskander by Parfum d'Empire

Not unpleasant, but nothing special either!
Dec 9, 2011


Osmanthus Interdite by Parfum d'Empire

Not bad but rather pale tea-floral. Watery, weak and really nothing special.
Dec 9, 2011


Vetiver by Lorenzo Villoresi

Camphor in hemp rope...or something like that!
Strange but not dirty.
Nov 20, 2011


Sel de Vétiver by The Different Company

Somewhere between Eau de Lalique(daddy Jean Claude!) and Eau de Cartier; light, transparant and delicious! Unfortunately slightly too female for my likes!
Nov 10, 2011


Beyond Paradise for Men by Estée Lauder

I love Beyond Paradise for Men! A soft, gentle and inoffensive, slightly androgyne delicacy! It has the same kind of 'feel good' atmosphere as Fahrenheit 32, which I really do like as well. Very nice!
Nov 5, 2011


Cèdre by Serge Lutens

Cedar is mostly the smell(with leather on a steady second place) that makes me turn down a fragrance. Most of the time I think it makes a fragrance cloying, boring and smell like an awful lot in a dozen. This one is not as bad as I expected it to be, but still unwearable for me. I simply don't like the smell of cedar.
Oct 10, 2011


Rousse by Serge Lutens

Very close to Dior Homme...and with that reason nothing to get really excited about...unfortunately!
Oct 9, 2011


Dzing! by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Indeed a softer, floating kind of Bvlgari Black; less penetrating, more cardboard than rubber...I prefer this one!
Oct 7, 2011


Sables by Annick Goutal

...smells like 'stopverf', as the Dutch say: google translates that as 'putty', the stuff to hold the glass window in its frame. Not really something to smell like as far as I am concerned.
Oct 5, 2011


Colonia Assoluta by Acqua di Parma

Friendly...but a little too soapy for my likes.
Oct 5, 2011


Arabie by Serge Lutens

...strange wrenching combination of sweet candied fruits in the front and Bel Ami leather in the background. A yellow no.
Oct 5, 2011


Safran Troublant by L'Artisan Parfumeur

To me this one smells like oldfashioned rosewater...cheap, thin, quiet and inoffensive, but nothing to wear nowadays.
Oct 5, 2011


Fahrenheit 32 by Christian Dior

Fahrenheit 32 is a soft, gentle and inoffensive, slightly androgyne delicacy! The vanilla, vetiver and orange blossom spread a peaceful sweet kind of 'feel good' atmosphere that is unique. Very nice!

8/10
Sep 10, 2011

Latest Threads

Top