tinfoilhatdude

Russian Leather by Memo

I found this rather feminine to my nose, maybe it's my skin chemistry?

This feels like a powdery floral wall of tapestry, with a base of Dior Eau Sauvage Parfum (2012) weaving in and out.

Very nice blending and quality of materials, it's a very nice fragrance.

But this leans too feminine for my tastes. Very glad to have tried this, so thank you anonymous BN'er who graciously let me sample this!

Will definitely try the other leathers from this house, as this is a fine specimen of perfumery.
Oct 15, 2021


Club de Nuit Milestone by Armaf

Having tried the Creed first, I much prefer this. I can actually smell this on myself all day long, for at least 12 hours using 5-6 sprays.

Quality, great value, can't wait to try some other Armaf's.
Sep 12, 2021


Forest by Bath and Body Works

Cedar done right, not too much o n the pencil shavings. Similar to Tommy Bahama's cedar, but through a green forest instead of a salty rum.

Clean but not soapy,
Green but not sharp,

Very nice!
Jul 23, 2021


Burberry for Men by Burberry

For the vintage formula:

Very similar to vintage Dolce & Gabbana Pour Homme, with apple in the opening instead of pepper and cardamon.

Very clean, classy, and elegant fragrance, with good longevity and decent projection.

8.5/10
Jul 4, 2021


Eau de Fleurs de Cédrat by Guerlain

From an older 'bee bottle' formula:

Beautiful opening; sparkling, fizzy, and shining bright. Very similar to Jean Paul Guerlain's Eau de Guerlain, though it does not last near as long as that beauty.

A joyful ride, and sure to put a smile on your face. I just wish it lasted longer.

7.5/10
Would rate higher if it had longer staying power.
Jul 4, 2021


Rochas Man by Rochas

I think I have an older bottle, as the liquid is darker.

Prime example of late 90's 'vanilla-bacco' style. Good construction from quality materials. A little too sweet for the humid swamps I live in, probably better served in drier climates.

7.5/10
Jul 4, 2021


Italian Cypress by Tom Ford

I like the profile this is aiming for, but it is way too thick and heavy to carry the name, "Italian".

This should be called, "French Cypress".

7/10
Because I wish it was more aromatic, like the true 'Italian' style...
Jul 4, 2021


Déclaration by Cartier

Nice blending and fragrance development, with good quality ingredients. As should be expected from the house.

However, my skin chemistry pulls a hard 'B.O.' from the cumin. I have the same problem with vetiver, so I can't really fault Cartier for this. This would be an easy thumbs up, if it weren't for this one issue.

Maybe your skin will react differently, so I recommend trying before buying.

Jun 7, 2021


KL Homme by Lagerfeld

Very, very soft, definitely unisex, possibly feminine.

I get nearly zero spice, just a linear, powdery amber glow.

A very soft Obsession for Men, but with better ingredients and blending.

Could pass for a a Serge Lutens creation today.
May 27, 2021


Acteur by Azzaro

One of the best Rose masculines in existence.

Centered, not too green, not too jammy, not too dark; juuuust riiiight.

A must try while vintage specimens are available at reasonable prices.
May 27, 2021


Lucifer by Renaissance Fragrances

Polo Cosmair meets Lauder for Men gold cap.

Piney oakmoss bomb.

Effin' marvelous!

Though, I don't know how I feel about surrounding myself with something called 'Lucifer'....
May 20, 2021


Furyo by Jacques Bogart

I was really hoping for loud animalic, musky, rosey, woodsy, high volume goodness, but this was extremely powdery on me.

A very tame, soft, powder, with hints of rose and wood.

Maybe I had a newer bottle, and I need to seek vintage?

A very nice fragrance, but maybe my body chemistry pulls the powder too hard, and pumps the brakes on the notes I'm looking for?

Great blending, but left me wanting.
May 20, 2021


Sauvage by Christian Dior

Synthetic blast of headache inducing modernity.

If this is the future of Dior, count me out.


If you wear this in public, kindly limit yourself to one spray. Trust me, it's PLENTY. I can smell the chemtrail from 2 grocery isles over.
May 17, 2021


Gambler by Jovan

Great fragrance, feels like something John Wayne would wear. I feel very confident wearing Gambler. Smooth & rugged at the same time. 7.5/10
Apr 25, 2021


Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche

Review of the late Cosmair version:

Slightly soapy, green-ish, barbershop-ish, wonderful fragrance.

However, weak sauce. No staying power. I can barely detect it after 30 minutes.

Maybe I'll try a deep vintage?
Apr 25, 2021


R de Capucci by Roberto Capucci

My review is for the triangle bottle, older formula.


Gucci Nobile's cousin on top, with Azzaro Acteur's cousin rounding the middle and base.


Awesome green-rose scent profile, very smooth, wonderful concoction!
Apr 22, 2021


Jules by Christian Dior

2010 model.


Krizia Uomo on top, with Gucci Nobile in the middle, their offspring is the base.

Nice scent, but thin and doesn't last a full workday.
Apr 22, 2021


Tabac Vert by Rogue Perfumery

Great tobacco scent, but sickly sweet. Very cloying, and not in a gourmond way.

I really wish this was dry, because I do like the tobacco leaf note, but I just can't stomach the rest.

Wearing The Dreamer now and yearning for the tobacco leaf note found in the Rogue offering...


Nov 2, 2020


Enigma pour Homme Cologne by Roja Dove

Nuclear Longevity! 12 hours later, after a full day of work, this stuff is still leaving quite a trail! Incredible!

However, this is definitely not masculine, and unisex may be a stretch. I felt like I was wearing a feminine powerhouse from the '80s.

This stuff wears thick, I wouldn't touch it above 80 degrees, especially with humidity.

I find it quite linear. Just when I think it's about to start getting sweet, it goes back to "perfumey".

After 13 hours of wear on one spray, and a scrubby shower, I thought I was clear of it. But I think it's interfering with my SOTN.... Maybe after a night's sleep, and another shower, maybe, I'll finally have all traces of this off of my body...

Try before you buy, but if this is your bag, you'll definitely get your money's worth!
Oct 17, 2020


40 Rogue by Rogue Perfumery

Love the drydown!! It reminds me of Lauder for Men, vintage, with real oakmoss.

However, it takes a long time to get there. And that's my gripe. I'm not a fan of the heart, which lasts for 4 hours. It's not off-putting, but it's not what I would drop coin for.

Great longevity though, after 12 hours I still had a scent bubble around me.

Try before you buy, and maybe it'll be worth your while, but I'd rather try something else with more of this base.
Oct 17, 2020


Onsen Wood by Madhat Scents

Great scent to represent Texas. I would wear this on a rainy day, when I can't go out and fire up the grill, but still want to enjoy that frame of mind.

I don't get a lot of woods, wish there were more. All in all, quality juice. Not sure if it's full bottle worthy for me, but I like it.

7.5/10
Oct 17, 2020


Krizia Uomo by Krizia

I think Cartier added 2 scoops of vanilla to this and called it "Must de Cartier Pour Homme"....

Great green scent, much more approachable than PRPH or Quorum. Great for Fall, it doesn't get to cloying, but it might in heat or humidity.

FBW in my book, but probably try before you buy.
Oct 15, 2020


Gucci pour Homme by Gucci

Thumbs up for the scent, but a neutral at today's prices....

One of Tom Ford's better offerings, as it doesn't wear "heavy" like his eponymous lineup does.

However, staying true to every TF scent I've tried, this is very linear. And there is the "pencil shavings" scent lurking in the background, throughout the day.

Longevity is above average, as are all TF scents I've tried, so if this frag is your bag you will get your money's worth.

The discontinued Tommy Bahama for Men is a similar reference for the base, so add some spice and a faint "cola" hint to that and you are pretty close to Gucci PH I.

Definitely take a test drive before signing on the bottom line for this unicorn, but all in all better than anything with a "Tom Ford" on the label.
Sep 22, 2020


Safari for Men by Ralph Lauren

Vintage Cosmair bottles are what my review is based on, Aftershave and EDT.

This is my staple aftershave, for work and church, and nothing else comes close to what Safari embodies. Projects both Classy & Rugged, Sauve & Direct, a masculine image, but not brutally so.

This works very well in heat & humidity, as well as fall, spring, and winter. Nothing sweet or cloying, nothing too spicy or sharp. The blending is masterful, the ingredients seem natural, an impeccable work of perfumery.

I haven't purchased a modern sample, as I refuse to accept IFRA "impressions" of fragrances past. So long great scents, it will be nice while they last....
Sep 2, 2020

Latest Threads

Top