joov84

The Moon by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

A sweet/sour/smoky raspberry flavoured shisha with quality leather and a slightly burnt oud chips undertone.
Excellent performance (beastly). Fantastic.

Overall score: 9.2/10
Jul 9, 2020


Tobacco Oud by Tom Ford

A slightly sweet spicy/ashy boozy tobacco

A Fantastic boozy slightly sweet whiskey, spice (cinnamon), ashy tobacco (including unlit cigars) with some benzoin and amber in the drydown. Excellent performance.

Overall score: 9.2/10
Jul 9, 2020


Patchouli Ardent by Guerlain

First impressions:

Starts off with pepper and figs which provide a green slightly dusty feel specially when smelled up close . From a distance it smells quite fermented/ boozy with some sweet spiciness. The figs die down quickly and more of the patchouli appears with just a bit of rose . It remains quite fermented/boozy. The patchouli is not that dominant and it's not dark and earthy. It blends well with some wood and musk from the base notes providing a smooth blend. The leather provides a backbone. Each note plays it's role. I got a slightly above average performance .
Jul 9, 2020


Psychédélique by Jovoy

Dark slightly medicinal ambered patchouli

what a lovely fragrance. This is my favorite Jovoy and favorite Patchouli fragrance.
It starts with a dark slightly medicinal patchouli. the medicinal vibe is reminiscent of the opening notes of some medicinal natural ouds even though this fragrance doesn't contain oud. it then mellows down and the patchouli is joined by an ambery smooth note with some vanilla. the combination of notes gives off a dark chocolaty feel . Performance is very good 9/10.

Overall Score 8.8/10
Jul 9, 2020


Spice Blend by Christian Dior

Rum and spices (cinnamon and pink pepper) with woody undertones. Supposed to be bay rum in there. I haven't smelled that before .
It's transparent airy and slightly sweet . Some bubblegum vibe in opening . It has something that reminds me a bit of balade sauvage which makes it steer away from being a masculine spicy fragrance.

7.8/10
Jul 9, 2020


Les Nombres d'Or : Vanille by Mona di Orio

Spicy, dry, Classy, vanillic fragrance

Such a great fragrance. starts off on the spicy side with a big dose of cloves, slightly boozy with some oranges. it then starts to get drier and sweeter due to the woods and vanilla. it has a dry, zesty, metallic, slightly sweet, slightly powdery vibe. very classy fragrance. it has just hints of similarities with both chanel egoiste and musc ravageur.

Performance is above average.

overall score: 8.8/10
Jul 9, 2020


Casamorati Italica by Xerjoff

My favorite gourmand and a wonderful, delicious fragrance

This opens up a little bit on the oriental side due to the saffron. there is a buscuity note in the opening with a hint of a strawberry like note. The almond and milk quickly appear followed by the vanilla and toffee making it smell close to cookies. its milky and sweet but not overly sweet or cloying.

also, its a unisex fragrance and is very suitable for men even though its a sweet gourmand. its absolutely delicious and its the best gourmand and most gourmandish fragrance i have come across so far. also, the bottle design is unique and fantastic.

performance is strong on this one. it fills up a room with a few sprays.

overall rating: 9.2 / 10
Jul 9, 2020


Coffee Break : Golden Dallah by Xerjoff

Golden Dallah initial review: Warm, Unique, inviting, dark, spicy, coffee /chocolate fragrance.

Wow. Now this is something special, warm and inviting. Straight off I get chocolates (slightly boozy) and right underneath are those spices used within Arabic coffee. Arabic coffee is mostly unroasted and we add spices to it (cardamom is a must , cloves , saffron some add cinnamon and ginger ). It's served using a Dallah hence the name here . So we have here Arabic coffee with its spices after that chocolate blast along with a good amount of incense. The chocolate then becomes more dusty. Some sweetness comes along from amber and tonka. Arabic coffee is usually served with something sweet including dates, chocolates or other sweets . It's used mostly in special events, visits, gatherings and religious holidays. Many burn oud (incense/bukhoor) in such environments. I see the image they are trying to get at . Rose? maybe there is a small amount.

It's a unique fragrance. I don't recall any fragrance that smells close to it . It has an idea and image behind it. its creative. I'm very impressed .

Performance is very good.
Jun 13, 2020


Santal Noir by Christian Dior

Santal Noir: A semi-gourmandish sweet jammy creamy slightly rosy sandalwood.

starts off sweet boozy and jammy. i get an orange/fruit jam with a slightly creamy vibe that gives me an image of fruit jam with cupcakes. its not a full-on gourmand though neither is it too sweet. The rose is there and its jammy but its not too prominent. the sandalwood appears more and more as it dries down. its not a sharp/medicinal sandalwood though.
its very very different from oud ispahan. also different from santal royal and ambre nuit

Both projection and longevity are very good.

Overall score: 8.4/10
Feb 22, 2020


Office for Men by Fragrance One

Fragrance One - Office for Men Initial Review

A modern, versatile, citrusy, peppery woody fragrance

This starts of with an uplifting big burst of bergamot which is acidic and slightly bitter (in a good way). the bitterness of the bergamot makes it come of smelling almost like grapefruit. strong yet not sharp as it is quickly joined by a small amount of ambrox and a hint of Iris which make it smooth and slightly clean but not powdery. the bergamot manages to last for a good while. Pepper starts appearing a good 30 minutes on and gradually become more apparent. There is a hint of florals too but no jasmin. The woods then join the pepper to produce the base of this fragrance which basically smell like pepper and wood with some patchouli for at least 7 hours. There is minimal sweetness in this fragrance and it's masculine .
Performance is slightly above average.

In terms of comparisons to other fragrances. The similarity to each of Sauvage and BDC is no more than 10%. A little bit more similarity to aventus especially in the first hour . Maybe 25% or so on average. its more similar to the new Aventus Cologne. So this is its own fragrance and is not a clone of anything out there.

Versatility is very good which makes it very much suitable for office use. its way of from being a clubbing scent.

Overall Score: 7.5/10
May 13, 2019


Lost Cherry by Tom Ford

A sweet boozy cherry tobacco scent with roasted almond/tonka and some woods.

I was pleasantly surprised by this one.
this starts off with a huge dark sweet cherry note which tones down quickly within 5 minutes. i then get some boozy cherry tobacco along with slightly roasted almonds. at this stage it reminds me just a little bit of some of the notes in tobacco vanille. i dont get the rose and jasmin.

After that it gradually gets more woody (cedarwood), more balsamic and less sweet/almondy over the course of 3 hours. by the 4 hour mark the scent is woody with some tonka and vanilla, some remains of the cherry note and just a hint of those spices. lasts 6 plus hours and has moderate projection its not weak at all by any means.
also, its totally unisex.
Overall score 8.2/10
Apr 20, 2019


Viking by Creed

Creed Viking Mini- Review

A citrusy, fresh spicy, fiery, minty, woody fragrance. Edgy, complex, mature, confident and masculine.

Opening: What a wonderful complex fragrance this is. as soon as i spray it i get hit with a combination of citruses with a dense green (mint) and pepper notes. the combination kinda gave me a clove like note but certainly not cinnamon. the opening gives off a slightly old vibe and might remind some people of things from the nineties.

Mid: It then gradually sweetens up a little bit with the pepper and mint staying in full force and getting joined by some patchouli. i don't get the rose here.

Base: as it dries down it becomes drier and woodier eventually reaching the base which is as wonderful as the top and mid. the drydown is very woody (sandalwood) with
slightly ashy/smoky nuances.

performance: longevity on my skin is 10 plus hours. projection is moderate which i wish was stronger.


Overall score: 8.8/10
Oct 3, 2017


Barista Collection : Tonkaccino by Daniel Barros

A huge letdown.
i had high hopes about this one based on the information. it has nothing to do with coffee nor tonka and it smelled awful to me. i almost gagged when i tried it a few times.
Feb 15, 2017


L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme Extrême / Eau de Parfum by Guerlain

A warm, comforting and sweet fragrance

This is one of my all time favorite designer fragrances.sweet, warm, elegant combination of cacao, star anise and patchouli with just a hint of citrus. this is one of the fragrances that feels subtle when first applied then it intensifies with time before dying down in 12+ hours. it has good projection.
highly recommended

9.0/10
Nov 10, 2016


La Nuit de L'Homme Eau de Toilette by Yves Saint Laurent

a warm spicy transparent scent.

a very good combination of lavendar and cardamom in the opening. the fragrance gets slightly sweet and woody as it dries down. it comes off as a transparent type of fragrance in my books. one of the first fragrances in my collection. never got bored of it. the performance is just good.

8.8/10
Nov 10, 2016


Aventus by Creed

a fresh, safe, versatile masculine fragrance

Starts off with a fresh fruity smell. the smoky birch notes then start to show up providing more masculinity to the mix. i then get accustomed to the smell and almost stop detecting it. it then shows up under certain conditions (e.g. body heat) out of nowhere as a very nice musky fragrance. the musky drydown stays there close to my skin for more than 24 hours.i like the drydown. its a very versatile scent that almost never disturbs people around you.
Just into the thumbs up territory.

Overall score: 7.8/10
Nov 10, 2016


Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

Clean, creamy, masculine, aromatic fragrance.

A great YSL designer fragrance. This is one of the most masculine and versatile fragrances. it opens up spicy and aromatic with the lavender, star anise and rosemary. it reminds me of shaving creams. it gets creamier as time progresses. the performance is very good. a staple in a grown man's fragrance wardrobe. it gets compliments for sure.

8.3/10
Nov 10, 2016


M7 by Yves Saint Laurent

a syrupy medicinal powdery ambery oudy fragrance.

vintage version (amber glass on 4 sides): This is a great fragrance from YSL. opens up with a quiet sharp and sweet medicinal smell that is pleasant. as time progresses it gets less medicinal and more powdery and ambery. the fragrance is also quiet sweet. i always cant stop sniffing the atomizer. smells really good. the performance is good. (12 hour longevity). most suitable in cooler weather. highly recommended.

9.1/10
Nov 10, 2016


A*Men Pure Havane by Thierry Mugler

sweet cherry powdery tobacco honey scent

this one opens up with a powdery sweet cherry note with honey and tobacco in the background. then the honey, vanilla and tobacco start to power up. the fragrance remains somewhat powdery and sweet throughout. the fragrance still have a bit of the a men DNA. the similarities to pure malt are there but are not significant. i prefer it over pure malt. performance is very good.

8.4/10
Nov 10, 2016


Armani Privé Oud Royal by Giorgio Armani

a balsamic, woody, smoky, dry fragrance

this is one of the best western oud fragrances. however, it smells very middle-eastern. the oud is not medicinal. one might describe it as rubbery. it has just the right amount of amber and saffron to give it a bit of sweetness and spiciness. the incense is predominant but not overbearing. the sandalwood is dry and smoky but not creamy. the fragrance feels almost powdery in the drydown. projection and longevity are average.

8.4/10
Nov 10, 2016


Royal Oud by Creed

A spicy, slightly sweet cedar based fragrance.

This is a very good offering from CREED. It's certainly not oud based but rather cedarwood based. I also get lots of pepper that add a spicy slightly sweet note to the cedar wood. some musk appears in the base. f performance is good.

Rating 8.0/10
Nov 10, 2016


Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

A classy bright leather based fragrance.
Tuscan leather is one of those fragrances that smells better when it is sniffed from a distance rather than up close. i get the raspberry and saffron in the opening followed by a bright and sharp leathery note. it does not smell dark to me. longevity is excellent.

Rating: 8.7/10
Nov 10, 2016


Exquisite Musk by Yves Saint Laurent

A balsamic oriental musky patchouli scent.

First impressions:

I gave it a quick sampling the other day and i was impressed by it. the opening was a bit spicy then it gradually got ambery/sweet and musky in the drydown. it has a slight animalic touch. The patchouli is there throughout.
the performance was moderate.

overall score: 7.8/10
Nov 10, 2016


El Born by Carner Barcelona

What a lovely fragrance this is. it reminds me of Autumn. When i smell it i get the image of sitting in a patio of a dessert shop having vanilla ice cream with raisins on an early autumn humid day surrounded by some plants. then it starts raining after a long dry period which leads to that unique smell of the water mixing in with the dust on the plants and the ground.
this is not a vanilla dominated scent by any means.
The performance is moderate
Overall Rating : 8.8 / 10
Nov 10, 2016

Latest Threads

Top