Reviews of Kai 
Kai

Average Rating:  22 User Reviews

Your ratings


Overall

Longevity

Sillage

Fragrance Overview Where to Buy Reviews Community Ownership

Add your review of Kai

You need to be logged in to add a review.

Log in here, or register

Required.

Reviews of Kai by Kai

There are 22 reviews of Kai by Kai.


The simple while floral opening note develops a nice Jasmine and a good, very bright tuberose and whiffs a a very gentle ylang-ylang, but the latter is soon overwhelmed by the other components.

In the drydown soon the main actor enters the stage: the gardenia. Initially only faint in the backgound, it now is the dominant notes blending in with the other players.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

All these floral notes of this spring scent are very bright and fresh and youthful. It is a bit linear, but nice for gardenia lovers, and the ingredients are of good quality. 3/5.
Aug 9, 2019


Sweet floral. Tropical. Then, I get a nutty accord. I smell gardenia. Then I think I smell tiare flower - and maybe jasmine. I'm not sure where the nuttiness comes from. A bit too tame for my tastes.
Jul 16, 2018


I found it rather simplistic and something that a beginner would wear rather than an experienced perfume enthuasist. Nice, fresh green notes. No sultriness.
Dec 4, 2012


Gardenia + LOTV + Tiare '/. 3 = Kai.

Kai is potent, linear and tenacious: good or bad qualities, depending upon whether you like this blend of white flowers. I do, but I'm not sure when -or if- I want to personally broadcast their aromas so loudly.

I have Kai EDP and a tiny sample of the oil. I found it laughable that the little card which came with the oil announced "kai is different on everyone". To me, this fragrance so 'fixed', I think it would be unmistakeable on anyone -or anything- it was sprayed upon.

I can't imagine Kai blending in with a wearer's personal chemistry - it's way too strong and un-human for that. In fact, Kai could be successfully employed to disguise minor lapses in personal hygiene.

Sep 1, 2011


Being a floral girl like myself, it is hard not to be enchanted by Kai. I know of many people that have been turned off by this fragrance's simple packaging and primary note of gardenia, but I urge people to not judge this fragrance before you try it. You are depriving yourself of something very special.

The gardenia in this perfume is very green and fresh. In no way has the gardenia been tampered with or made to smell overly sweet or synthetic. Kai is like wandering through a garden full of these wonderous flowers and inhaling their delicious aroma.

I particularly love how soft and creamy this scent becomes when it develops on my skin. Despite its strong floral notes, Kai never smells too mature or dated. On my skin, this scent is youthful, feminine and fresh.

The sillage is fantastic and the lasting power also great. My only gripe is with the price, which I find absolutely ridiculous. I understand that Kai is an exclusive and independant brand, however I believe that more sales would be made if the price was much lower.

Perhaps one day, if I'm rich, $100 for 10ml of Kai won't faze me and I will add this fragrance to my collection.

Apr 27, 2011


On me this is a cool, green, light, very true gardenia. The freshly-opened buds l mean, none of the buttery-creaminess of the mature bloom, or the skank of the leaves & dirt here. l don't get any other flowers from this either. l appreciate it for being an authentic gardenia, but it's very linear, & lasts barely an hour on my skin. l highly recommend Estee Lauder's Tuberose Gardenia, if you're looking for a true gardenia with wonderful sillage & longevity, & a bit of depth.
This review is for the EDP.
Feb 7, 2011


Disappointing for me. It's in the same realm as Monyette Paris. There's a sickening plasticky cream butter gardenia note in it that amplifies the longer it sits on my skin. It is tenacious yes but I could not bear that plastic note . This presents itself, at first, like a tropical garden of white flowers, till you realise the flowers are plastic and have been sitting in the sun and heat for far too long - and someone sprayed the melting plastic flowers with some cheap gardenia air freshener. Sorry, this is a big yuck for me.
Apr 15, 2010


My first reaction to Kai was a rush of every white flower that I had ever experienced...lily of the valley, Casablanca lily, jasmin and finally Gardenia. The combination did remind me of Hawaii where the air smells of ginger and plumeria. I did not notice any green notes, but I did notice an intense sweetness which settles down after a few minutes. Very linear, but very nice if you like uncomplicated white floral fragrances...kind of a well behaved Fracas!
Apr 2, 2010


Reminds me of my grandmother and aunts, dressed for Easter church, a gardenia on each wrist. It's sweet, sentimental, innocent. A dab of the oil is enough to get noticed, but not over powering.
Mar 8, 2010


Weird, I didn't get Gardenia at all out of this. It was a true Mock Orange scent to me. It was very powerful on my arm where I just barely dabbed it and sat there, all cloying mock orange for an hour and a half. And then it just barely started to dry down. It's still mock orange, but softer and spicier.I used to smell my neighbors mock orange bush and wish I had a perfume that captured that lovely, sweet scent. But now that I've found one, I don't actually think it's a good idea. It's just not very wearable.
Nov 21, 2009


Everyone accents on the gardenia but Kai has toxicating dose of lily descent upon gardenia . I love florals but Kai is much for me. Too strong; away from neatness and delicacy. Like o punch on the nose... Gardenias liles and jasmines are nice but you cannot put them altogether out of mesure and expect it to be a good scent. All these strong flowers on top of eachother should be coming from an elementery way of thinking. I like taste of danish blue, i also like crabs and curry. So i should get a great dish if i put these three in a bowl, shouldn't i? mixing all these preponderant flowers is risky and kai fails. Kai without a composition and artistry is tasting just unsophisticated and overpowering to me.
Oct 27, 2009


Billie Holiday wore only a cluster of gardenias in her hair as trademark fragrance and ornament, and this certainly evokes that image. Lady Day by the sea? Oh yes Kai has gardenia, very very powerful gardenia, but not a singleflora. Kai has noticeable jasmine, very present aquatic bits in the finish, and I'd swear that's late march privet blossom in there as well. Quite lovely, tho very out of character for me as I'm not usually a floral fan. I'd still rate it second behind MPG's Jardin Blanc, but pretty much on par with Alfred Sung's original hit. All nice white flower scents, each with a different basenote. That aquatic note is the one thing keeping Kai from getting my highest possible raves and rating. Great gardenia reproduction, and certainly the silage is monumental. A strong one, no doubt.
Nov 12, 2008


I first tried the Kai EdP and while I admired it and its sillage, it was a bit "death by gardenia" for me. While I love the white flower notes it contains (gardenia, jasmine, tuberose, and lily), it came across as a bit too cloying on me-YMMD. I prefer the oil. While it doesn't have the sillage of the EdP, it comes across as softer, and I get a little more wood and depth in the base.
Oct 12, 2008


Beautiful fragrance with excellent lasting power and lovely sillage, which is sure to invoke many an inquiring mind as to what fragrance you are wearing. Enhances my mood tremendously, especially during the bleak, grey cold winter months. If you adore Jasmine & Gardenia, this is a must have for your collection.
May 6, 2008


I just wish this has more sillage and longevity. Because it's absolutely beautiful, but I'm forever topping it up, because it fades so quickly. However, I can't add to what others have said, this perfume is an absolute delight.
Dec 20, 2007


Gardenia, jasmine & lily. This blend is fresh! If you love fresh florals, particularly gardenia, this is a wonderful choice of fragrance for you! The entire variety of body products are quite nice as well - especially the newly released body butter. Thumbs up - enthusiastically!
Nov 28, 2007


I bought this online because I heard rave reviews about it, and I wanted to try a fragrance oil. From the bottle, I smell fresh gardenia and jasmine and something green. On skin? Goodbye jasmine! Straight up gardenia. Albeit it's a fresh gardenia, and smells just like the gardenias in the bush outside my house. Don't get me wrong -- it's a nice gardenia. But for the money I paid, I expected something a little more complicated than just one dinky gardenia. Kai be one of those pleasant-but-not-special scents I turn to when I have nothing else to wear.
Nov 9, 2007


One word: GARDENIA!!!! I felt like I had fallen into gardenia bush & couldn't get up. Really feminine too - I was hoping this might work for me (I'm a guy) but this really smelled too floral on me for me to keep a straight face.I think I'll buy the candles.
Jan 21, 2007


I love, love, love Kai! It's a little bit on the pricy side, but it's worth it because it smells just like you plucked a gardenia right off the plant, along with a couple of those green and "spicy" smelling leaves. I don't really get frangipani-- maybe a touch of tiare along with the gardenia (sadly for me, no pikake)... But it definitely interacts with everyone's skin differently; while I find it gorgeous and multifaceted, on my friend it smells like Pure White Floral.
Aug 2, 2006


When wearing Kai, I close my eyes, inhale, and then I'm transported to paradise. Kai is an incredibly pure gardenia that's shockingly beautiful. Its lasting power is outstanding. Kai is a precious fragrance treasure.
Mar 17, 2006


I find the Kai perfume oil to be a delightful, fresh, green gardenia scent. It's the only perfume oil I own. but I suppose I'll try more now. It manages to be smellable, with a bit of sillage at first, yet not cloying like almost every other gardenia I have ever tried. Then it sinks into my skin so softly. I don't think what a lovely fragrance, I think WOW my skin smells awesome! Perhaps because of the green notes, I don't get a perfumey note at all, just fresh, moist, and beautiful. I sniff my wrist throughout the day and the scent is always fresh and alive, as though I had the actual potted plant sitting on my desk, with blooms constantly producing fresh oils just for me! It makes me smile, and I can buy it in a tiny bottle and carry it in my pocket.What a concept!!!
Mar 2, 2006


I was intrigued by the ammount of press and celebrity endorsement this fragrance has recieved, and hoping that maybe the rich do live better than the rest of us, I ordered a sample and prepared to be amazed. REally this just smells like a really nice shampoo or tanning oil - very tropical and romantic/casual, but nothing spectacular - except the price! I love frangi-pani, because it reminds me of growing up in the tropics, but its not enough to give this one a thumbs up.
Aug 7, 2005

Latest News

Recently Viewed on this device

Top