• We're half back! There's a lot missing, but you can find out more here,

You are now able to log into the forums and post

Help choose my next Amouage

jkonick

Feb 16, 2019
What does the man who has it all buy for himself? I've been sitting on some Christmas gift money for a few months now with the intention of buying some expensive and unique fragrance. My collection is big enough now that I've got most categories covered, so at this point I'm looking for something that is very high quality and has a unique blend of notes.

I've finally settled on Amouage as the ideal house to choose from. I already have two fragrances, Jubilation XXV and Interlude 53, so I know I'm a fan of the house DNA. Not really into the freshies at all - I tried Honour Man and it was fine but not the show-stopper style I'm looking for. I've come up with a short list of possible purchases, but there is a lot in Amouage world that I'm not too familiar with like attars or the opus series, so I could use some help narrowing things down here.

This is my list for now, curious to hear what other people think (check my wardrobe to get a sense of my tastes):

Epic Man
Journey Man
Lyric Man
Memoir Man
Myths Man

freewheelingvagabond

Jun 10, 2012
Epic Man - Pink pepper and oud. Honestly not the most elegant. I think Creed's Royal Oud that you have is a nicer pink pepper & woods scent; for oud or incense you can look elsewhere. At times it has an uncanny note of Indian paan. Not the stuff itself, but imagine a post dinner talk with a bunch of people chewing paan at an Indian wedding - very similar to that fresh-spicy smell.

Journey Man - Terrific first 3-4 hours; good afterwards, but slightly synthetic in the base. First 2-3 hours is a great dry non-sweet tobacco with juniper. Similar to the tobacco accord in Tribute. If you can afford it (Tribute at retail, not fantasy prices), I'd suggest Tribute over Journey. But availability is probably an issue.